I SOLISTI AQUILANI came into being in 1968.

The ensemble comprises high-calibre musicians who have interchangeable roles within the organisation, enabling them to perform extremely demanding and virtuosic works.

Their repertoire embraces a wide range of musical epochs, from the pre-Baroque to the contemporary. It focuses on Italian composers and at the same time does just homage to operatic pieces. Owing to their excellent performance level, the high number of concerts they have given, the fact that they have played in such widespread locations and have won both public and critical acclaim, I Solisti Aquilani have established themselves to be one of the most prestigious chamber orchestras in Italy. As well as being billed at the most important national musical events and have made numerous highly-praised tours in Europe, the Middle and Far East, Africa and America. They have played in the best concert halls in Central and South America, Austria, Canada, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, Hungary, Ireland, Lebanon, Malta, Poland, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, USA, Yugoslavia, Esthonia, Lithuania, Vietnam, Singapore, Kazakhstan. I Solisti Aquilani had been invited to play on numerous occasions at international festivals in Berne, Bonn, Cannes, Helsinki, Lucerne, Ludwigsburg, Menton, Miami, Montreux-Vévey, Passau, Puebla, S. Sebastian, Toronto and Zurich, and at Italian festivals at Bologna, Fiesole, Porto Cervo, Ravello and Stresa. The ensemble normally performs with other internationally acclaimed musicians, including Maurice André, Felix Ayo, Paul Badura Skoda, Hermann Baumann, Renato Bruson, Michele Campanella, Cecilia Gasdia, Severino Gazzelloni, David Geringas, Ilya Gruber, Stefan Milenkovic, Massimo Quarta, Massimo Mercelli, Jean Pierre Rampal, Uto Ughi, Ramin Bahrami, D. D. Bridgewater, Giuseppe Albanese, Piergiorgio Odifreddi, Bruno Canino, Salvatore Accardo, Umberto Clerici, Krysztof Penderecki, Peter Eötvös, Luis Bacalov, Sonig Tchakerian, Andrea Griminelli, Giovanni Sollima, Alessandro Carbonare, Alessio Allegrini, Evelyn Glennie, Mischa Maisky, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Sergei Nakariakov, Mario Brunello, Anna Tifu, Shlomo Mintz, Egberto Gismonti, Richard Galliano, Manuel Barrueco, Marco Rizzi, Andrea Lucchesini, Edicson Ruiz, Vinicio Capossela, whose prestigious collaborations have added to its fame. In 2009 I Solisti Aquilani have performed a concert in New York at the Dag Hammarskjold Library Auditorium inside the ONU building. I Solisti Aquilani have made a large number of records and radio and television recordings in Italy, Central and South America, Germany, Spain, Switzerland, USA, Japan. 

Since 2014, Daniele Orlando is the Konzertmeister of I Solisti Aquilani chamber orchestra.

Maurizio Cocciolito has been the artistic director since 2013.